To celebrate the start of Book Week in Australia, the Children’s Book Council has announced the 2011 winners of Book of the Year. The winners are listed below, many other books received special honours, view them here.

Older readers

The Midnight Zoo by Sonya Hartnett

The Midnight Zoo

Younger readers

The Red Wind by Isobelle Carmody

The Red Wind (Kingdom of the Lost)

Early childhood

Maudie and Bear by Jan Ormerod

Maudie and Bear

Picture Book (joint winners)

Mirror by Jeannie Baker


Picture Book (joint winners)

Shakespeare’s Hamlet by Nicki Greenberg

Shakespeare's Hamlet

Eve Pownall

The Return of the Word Spy by Ursula Dubosarsky
The Return of the Word Spy

Related articles:

Don’t miss critical information about your move to Australia: Join Mum’s Facebook page to receive regular updates. Subscribe to our monthly newsletter to have a wrap-up of articles, tips and recommendations delivered straight to your Inbox.